top of page

A Day in the Life of an Outpatient Pediatric SLP


Writing a "Day in the Life of..." blog post always begs the question of which day to pick. Do I pick the day where I had 6 patients show up or the day where I had 14 regulars plus new patient evaluations?

The outpatient pediatric setting can vary significantly from day to day and season to season. I get more referrals for new evaluations when schools are on break and I have lighter mornings with more evening appointments during the school year.

The age of my patients varies from 18 months to 18 years with a diversity of diagnoses and presentations, so I've chosen a day that has a splattering of almost everything I see regularly.

7:50am

Arrive to work just ahead of the scheduled 8am patient, grab my laptop from the storage closet, and get set.

8:00am

My 1-hour preschool-aged stuttering/articulation patient has canceled so I have a little time to read, organizer, or review the rest of today's schedule.

9:30am

30-minute play-based language therapy with a toddler. (I'm lucky and have so many toys for children to choose form).

10:00am

1-hour new patient evaluation for a 3 year old. The concern was listed as expressive language on initial paperwork, but in meeting the child, I see articulation and intelligibility issues which will need to be assessed as well. (Typically, it's the other way around and the paperwork lists a speech problem but the true concern is with language). At the end of the session, send a staff message to the pediatrician with my results from the evaluation. (I love that I can message the doctors directly and get a quick reply using Electronic Medical Records).

11:00am

1-hour voice evaluation for a school aged child referred from the otolaryngologist after an endoscopic exam identified vocal fold nodules. I love voice, but don't get to do it very often so I'm excited to work on this one. (Luckily, I have lots of tools for evaluations as well).

12:00pm

I should be seeing siblings for back-to-back/joint articulation and language sessions with a pre-schooler and a kindergartener, but the family is running late and I will only have time to see one of them today. 1:00pm LUNCH TIME - I get a full hour and there are restaurants around so I usually go out for lunch alone to enjoy a little quiet and solitude or listen to NPR on my car radio. 2:00pm Time for articulation therapy with a kindergartner.

2:30pm

Back to language therapy with a toddler, but this one is bilingual and I'm not. Fortunately parent is bilingual too.

3:00pm

Speech and language therapy with a 1st grader.

3:30pm

Back to play-based therapy with a little one who is under 2 years old.

3:55pm

Sending a quick note to the Occupational Therapist regarding our co-treat session for later in the week with a child with Autism who is using a combination of PECS and sign language.

4:00pm

Working on articulation and language in the same session with a pre-school aged child.

4:30pm

Table based tasks for this early elementary child with grammar difficulties.

5:00pm

Teenager with Down Syndrome & Autism learning to improve communication with an AAC device.

5:30pm

Preschooler working on difficulty with motor planning for speech and sound sequencing.

6:00pm

Upper elementary student here to work on a frontal lisp.

6:30pm

Teen with high-functioning Autism here to work on fluency of speech and social interaction.

7:00pm

Time to close up shop. I tried to type most session notes immediately after each session before going to the waiting room to get the next patients, but when they are back to back I get a little behind. I just need to finish typing the last few and lock up the clinic.

I didn't get to work on any /r/ sounds today...and I'm the weird SLP who loves /r/! ❤️

It's a long day. I will get home about 12 hours after I left, but I'm not too tired. I get 3-day weekends every week, so the long days are well worth it for me. 😁

Also, I LOVE my office! (The muted color scheme is less visually overwhelming for some children, but I still have lots of colorful toys we can bring out from the toy cabinet). Check out a 360 degree view of my office (and a bonus closet) in the video below.

 

Expand Your S.C.O.P.E.™ is a clinician mentoring and shadowing service for certified healthcare providers looking to expand their own scopes of practice. JOIN NOW to get access to exclusive content and the opportunity to be matched with providers in your field for professional shadowing and mentoring experiences.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page